Return to Headlines

Norman Public Schools Names 2023-2024 Site Teachers of the Year

Norman Public Schools educators have been recognized as 2023-2024 Site Teachers of the Year for demonstrating a commitment to excellence and expertise in the classroom.

Coordinated by the district's Staff Development Committee, the program recognizes teachers who are ambassadors for the profession and exhibit vigorous, creative and imaginative teaching that results in positive learning experiences.

“We are focused on celebrating the good things in Norman Public Schools this year, and having the opportunity to recognize this talented group of educators is in that category,” said Superintendent Dr. Nick Migliorino. “These educators are incredible representatives of our district who are leaders in their buildings and are dedicated to serving and supporting our students. I thank them for all they do for NPS and congratulate them on earning this well-deserved recognition from their peers.”

While each school’s selection process can differ, eligible teachers typically are nominated by their colleagues. The school’s faculty and support staff then cast votes to determine who will receive the honor.

Recipients will be honored at a breakfast next semester and also will be considered for the 2024 Norman Public Schools Teacher of the Year award, to be announced at the annual Celebration of Excellence on April 12. The district’s Teacher of the Year will be eligible for the statewide award. Teachers recognized are:

Adams Elementary - Heather Murphy 

Cleveland Elementary - Rowdy Washburn

Eisenhower Elementary - Angela Reed

Jackson Elementary - PJ Siharath

Jefferson Elementary - Lisa Wright

Kennedy Elementary - Lysa Mackey

Lakeview Elementary - Rebecca Johnson

Lincoln Elementary - Tonya Ford

Madison Elementary - Molly Mitchell

McKinley Elementary - Alyssa Johnson

Monroe Elementary - Carley Rother 

Reagan Elementary - Sara Simpson

Roosevelt Elementary - Haley Stratton

Truman Elementary - Tiffany Toquinto

Truman Primary - Kristyn Erickson 

Washington Elementary - Joan Koerner 

Wilson Elementary - Nadean Melton

Alcott Middle School - Myles Simpson 

Irving Middle School - Deidra Martin

Longfellow Middle School - Nekisha Clarke-Blake

Whittier Middle School - Rhye Visser 

Dimensions Academy - Alison Wood

Norman High School - Jeremy Davis

Norman North High School -  Sherri Jones

Residential Facilities - Leah Price 

ExpandED - Brandi Graham