Return to Headlines

NPS Names 2022-23 Site Teachers of the Year

Teachers from across the Norman Public School District were recognized as Teachers of the Year at their respective schools for demonstrating a commitment to excellence and expertise in the classroom.

Coordinated by the district's Staff Development Committee, the program recognizes teachers who are ambassadors for the profession and exhibit vigorous, creative and imaginative teaching that results in positive learning experiences.

“These educators make a positive impact on their students and schools every single day, and I am so proud to recognize and celebrate them,” said Superintendent Dr. Nick Migliorino. “They have all demonstrated exceptional skill and proficiency in the classroom while also being leaders at their sites, and I thank them for their contributions to our district.” 

While each school’s selection process can differ, eligible teachers typically are nominated by their colleagues. The school’s faculty and support staff then cast votes to determine who will receive the honor.

Recipients will be honored with breakfast delivered to their respective sites and also will be considered for the 2023 Norman Public Schools Teacher of the Year award, to be announced in the spring. The district’s Teacher of the Year will be eligible for the statewide award. Teachers recognized are:

  • Adams - Matt Mairet
  • Cleveland - Hannah Mace 
  • Eisenhower - Trina Gibbins
  • Jackson - Jamie Schulze
  • Jefferson - Matt Blanchard
  • Kennedy - Sheri Mosley
  • Lakeview - April Thompson
  • Lincoln - Angela Pennello 
  • Madison - Jacqueline Coplen
  • McKinley - Cinimin Mattingly
  • Monroe - Nicole Gorman
  • Reagan - Diane Rosales 
  • Roosevelt - Sara Plant 
  • Truman - Heidi Fox
  • Truman Primary - Savannah Grubb
  • Washington - Julie Perry
  • Wilson - Sara Thoendel
  • Alcott - Jamie Medina
  • Irving - Nate Strong
  • Longfellow -  Jason Millican
  • Whittier - Pamela Donica
  • Dimensions - Michelle Scuccimarri
  • Norman High -  John Baldwin
  • Norman North -  Twyla Hart
  • Residential Facilities - Christy Bynum
  • ExpandEd -  Kenady Sheldon