Return to Headlines

Fourteen NPS students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Norman Public Schools is proud to be home to 14 of these exceptional students.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title. 

Click here to learn more about the National Merit Scholarship program.

Norman Public Schools’ honorees are as follows: 

Sage Abbott 

Isaac Atkins

Reid Bodenhamer

Eliza Doyle

Shoaib Jamil

Daniel Jensen

Zoe Kelley

Nicholas Papavassiliou

Logan Peltier

Raiyan Siddique

Eliana Simon

Nathan Wirth

Bryan Yang

Samuel Zinn