Return to Headlines

Norman Public Schools select site teachers of the year

Teachers across the Norman Public School District today were recognized as Teachers of the Year at their respective schools for demonstrating a commitment to excellence and ingenuity in the classroom. 

Coordinated by the district's Staff Development Committee, the program recognizes teachers who are ambassadors for the profession and exhibit vigorous, creative and imaginative teaching that result in positive learning experiences. Recipients also are active in their community and  display positive leadership at their school.

“These teachers are exceptional leaders in the education profession,” said Dr. Joe Siano, superintendent of Norman Public Schools. “The passion and creativity they bring to their positions engage our students and inspire them to achieve their full potential. We have tremendous pride in our educators and appreciate the significant contributions they make to benefit students.”

While each school’s selection process can differ, eligible teachers typically are nominated by their colleagues. The school’s faculty and support staff then cast votes to determine who will receive the honor.

Recipients will be honored at a January breakfast and also will have an opportunity to be considered for the 2017 Norman Public Schools Teacher of the Year award, which will be announced in April. The district’s Teacher of the Year will be eligible for the statewide award. Teachers recognized are:

  • Adams Elementary - Melissa Hensley, Kindergarten

  • Cleveland Elementary - Kristen Cochran, 3rd Grade

  • Eisenhower Elementary - Katelynn Blalock, 4th Grade

  • Jackson Elementary - Victoria Fisher, EL Teacher

  • Jefferson Elementary - Danielle Kendrix, 3rd Grade

  • Kennedy Elementary - Angela Reed, 4th Grade

  • Lakeview Elementary - Shannon Irwin, 4th Grade

  • Lincoln Elementary - Ashlynn Dickinson, Music

  • Madison Elementary - Emily Richardson, Music

  • McKinley Elementary - Courtney Todd, Special Education

  • Monroe Elementary - Amber Smith, 5th Grade

  • Reagan Elementary - Kristi Meier, 2nd Grade

  • Roosevelt Elementary - Emily Willett, 1st Grade

  • Truman Elementary - Shannon Mashburn, 3rd Grade

  • Truman Primary Elementary - Elizabeth Douma, Pre-Kindergarten

  • Washington Elementary - Mark Lenington, Music

  • Wilson Elementary - Nadean Melton, 5th Grade

  • Alcott Middle School - Lindsey Rhodes, Special Education

  • Irving Middle School - Lezlie Hopkins, Special Education

  • Longfellow Middle School - Stephanie Young, Special Education

  • Whittier Middle School - Katherine Brooks, Gateway to Technology/Technology Education

  • Dimensions Academy -  Terri Hall, Kindergarten/1st Grade

  • Norman High School - Jamie Rentzel, AP Calculus and Algebra II

  • Norman North High School - Amy Lawson, English and D.E.N. (Student Council)

  • Residential Facilities - Carrie Smyser, Community Works Day Treatment Program