Return to Headlines

Alcott teacher named Special Education Teacher of the Year

Norman Public Schools has announced that Lisa Bischoff has been named the 2015 Special Education Teacher of the Year by AMBUCS, a nonprofit service organization that has 135 chapters in 30 states.

 AMBUCS’ Sooner Chapter annually awards a Teacher of the Year distinction for a deserving NPS teacher, including a cash prize of $500.

 Bischoff has taught in NPS for 20 years and is currently serving multi-level classes of students with cognitive disabilities and in all core subject areas, as well as an 8th grade Life Skills class. Alcott Principal Dana Morris nominated her for AMBUCS Teacher of the Year, calling her “a master teacher who goes above and beyond for her students and parents.”

 “As a 20-year veteran of special education in Norman Public Schools, Lisa is among an elite group of individuals determined to make a difference in the lives of children in our community,” Morris said. “No matter what obstacles or challenges arise, she is always willing to adapt and carry on.”

 NPS Special Services Director Justin Milner expressed his continued appreciation to AMBUCS for recognizing and rewarding special education teachers, whose work is vitally important and all too often goes unnoticed by the general public.

 “We have a serious shortage of special education teachers in Oklahoma, yet our population of students needing special services is not diminishing; that is why the commitment and talent of veterans like Lisa is so incredibly important,” Milner said. “The district is thankful for AMBUCS’ continued support of this annual distinction and we congratulate Lisa on well-deserved honor. We have the highest respect of and appreciation for what she does for us and our families each day and are grateful she has chosen Norman as where she will share her talents.”

 The Special Education Teacher of the Year program is a vital, yet independent component of NPS’ teacher recognition efforts. NPS is set to also announce its 2015 district Teacher of the Year in ceremonies tomorrow evening, April 14.