Gender Discrimination and Sexual Misconduct

  •  

    District Policy

    The Norman Public School District prohibits all forms of discrimination or harassment of students and staff. It is the intent of the district to be nondiscriminatory to all students regardless of race, color, sex, national origin, religion, disability, veteran’s status, sexual orientation, age or genetic information.This policy is equally applicable to all students, administrators, staff, volunteers, and individuals serving as trip sponsors. The full policy can be found on the district's website. 

    The Law

    Gender discrimination and sexual harassment are prohibited by Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 as amended, Title IX of the- Education Amendments of 1972, and Title 25 of the Oklahoma Statutes. No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance. 

    Reporting Sexual Misconduct

    If someone has mistreated you sexually, it’s not your fault. Please speak with an adult you trust. Although all school officials keep your info private, they may be required to report circumstances to appropriate authorities. Options at school include:

    Student Advocacy Coordinators
    These individuals are available to advocate for students and respond to sexual misconduct, bullying, gender discrimination and other traumas. A coordinator does not investigate, rather, they assist the student with reporting the incident and help with safety planning, academic arrangements, and community resources. 

    Administrators, School Counselors or Teachers
    If you report sexual misconduct to a principal, counselor, teacher, coach or secretary they can help you decide what’s best for you. Administrators will start an investigation immediately and others will help you notify a school leader so an investigation can begin. These adults will keep things as private as possible.

    Campus Police
    If you tell a school resource officer, they will immediately investigate to determine if the incident is a crime and connect you with adults who can provide support. In addition, the Norman Police Department can be reached at (405) 321.1444.

Contacts

  • District Contacts

    Holly Nevels

    Title IX Coordinator
    (405) 573-3501
    hnevels@norman.k12.ok.us

    Stephanie Williams

    Deputy Title IX Coordinator
    (405) 364-1339
    swilliams7@norman.k12.ok.us

    Website:  www.normanpublicschools.org
    Email: titleIX@norman.k12.ok.us

     

    Norman High School

    Melanie Baer

    Student Advocacy Coordinator
    mbaer@norman.k12.ok.us
    (405) 366-5812 x8108

    Hallie Wright

    Principal
    halliew@norman.k12.ok.us
    (405) 366-5812

    Norman North High School

    Alexis Zanotelli

    Student Advocacy Coordinator
    azanotelli@norman.k12.ok.us
    (405) 366-5954 x8282

    Dr. Kim Garrett

    Principal
    kgarrett@norman.k12.ok.us
    (405) 366-5954

    Alcott Middle School

    Renee Jonason

    Student Advocacy Coordinator
    rjonason@norman.k12.ok.us
    (405) 366-5845

    Irving Middle School

    Janette Nichols

    Student Advocacy Coordinator
    janetten@norman.k12.ok.us
    (405) 366-5941

    Longfellow Middle School

    Sarah Henry

    Student Advocacy Coordinator
    sarahh@norman.k12.ok.us
    (405) 366-5948

    Whittier Middle School

    Penny Hague

    Student Advocacy Coordinator
    pennyh@norman.k12.ok.us
    (405) 366-5956

    Dimensions Academy

    Penny Hague

    Student Advocacy Coordinator
    pennyh@norman.k12.ok.us
    (405) 579-1880